Hot Racing news: 2014 ROAR Nationals Schedule and Reedy Race Invitational List Announced

Hot Racing news: 2014 ROAR Nationals Schedule and Reedy Race Invitational List Announced

Hot on the heels of the the IFMAR Electric Off-Road World Championships that finished on Sunday came two big announcements that will help define the 2014 racing season. Radio Operated Auto Racers (ROAR) released their 2014 schedule of sanctioned national championship events for all six different categories of vehicle, while Team Associated published the final invitational list for the 2014 Reedy International Off-Road Race of Champions (which, as we learned a few weeks ago, will be held at OCRC in Huntington Beach for the first time).


When it comes to racing RC cars in the United States there’s no bigger honor than winning a ROAR National Championship – ROAR, the North American sanctioning body, recognizes many different classifications across several racing disciplines and winning a title at one of these events comes with it the distinction of being the fastest in the country! Here’s the announcement from ROAR:

2014 ROAR Nationals schedule:
Carpet On Road
February 26th – March 2nd
Hobbytown Hobbyplex Raceway
1002 Scott Circle
Omaha, NE 68122

1:8 Electric Off Road
April 30th – May 4th
Gulf Coast Raceway
21768 E Knox Dr
Porter, TX 77365

Fuel Off Road
June 18th – June 22nd
Thornhill Racing Circuit
881 County Road 180
Leander, TX 78641

Paved Electric On Road
July 30th – Aug 3rd
Full Throttle Raceway
3103 Florida Coach Dr
Kissimmee, FL 34741

1/10th Electric Off Road
Aug 20th – Aug 24th
Space Coast R/C
3095 Grissom Parkway
Cocoa, FL 32926

Fuel On Road
Oct 29th – Nov 2nd
Fort Myers R/C Car Club
11831 Bayshore Rd North
Fort Myers, FL 33917


The hallmark event of the Reedy International Off-Road Race of Champions, long recognized as second only to the IFMAR Worlds in terms of both competition and prestige, is the Invitational Class that pits thirty of the world’s fastest drivers against each other in a series of heads-up races split between 2WD and 4WD buggy – just like Mike Reedy wanted all the way back in 1987. The drivers chosen for the Invitational division are selected from the top drivers at the ROAR Nationals, EFRA European Championships, JMRCA Japanese Nationals, and the IFMAR World Championships, along with past Invitational Class winners and the previous year’s Open 2WD and Open 4WD champions. Here’s the press release from Team Associated:

Now that the 2013 IFMAR World Championships are completed, the list of qualified drivers for the 2014 Reedy International Off-Road Race of Champions Invitational class has been set. The following drivers are eligible to compete in the Invitational class to become the 20th champion of the historic event:

Ryan Cavalieri
Jörn Neumann
Dustin Evans
Billy Easton
Brian Kinwald
Mark Pavidis
Mark Francis
Greg Hodapp
Jeremy Kortz
Masami Hirosaka
Rick Hohwart
Cliff Lett
Kris Moore
Chris Allec
Jared Tebo
Steven Hartson
Martin Achter
Hayato Matsuzaki
Neil Cragg
Dakotah Phend
Yusuke Sugiura
Ty Tessmann
Martin Bayer
Naoto Matsukura
Lee Martin
Ryan Maifield
Ryan Lutz
Darren Bloomfield
Travis Amezcua
David Ronnefalk
Kody Numedahl
Carson Wernimont
Rob Gillespie Jr.
Atsushi Hara
Kai Kikuchi
Keisuke Enomoto
Tatsuya Sanpei
Kohta Akimoto
Hupo Hönigl
Masatsugu Ido
Kenji Tsruta
Satoshi Maezumi
Shinya Kimura
Tyuya Katou
Christoffer Svensson
Tyler Vik
Lorenzo Crolla
Wesley Van Helmond
Hiroshi Suzuki
Barry Baker
Martin Kreil
Takayuki Kohno
Billy Fischer
Oliver Scholz
Paul Bradby

Once the entry deadline of November 3, 2013 has been reached, the drivers who have signed up will be sorted into ranked order with the top 30 competing in the Invitational class. The rest of the qualified Invitational drivers will be guaranteed a position in the Open classes.

Never miss an issue of RC Car Action!

Subscribe today with a Digital Edition subscription or Print + Digital combo!

Updated: July 21, 2015 — 3:37 PM
Air Age Media ©