Ty Tessman Sweeps IFMAR Pre-Worlds

Ty Tessman Sweeps IFMAR Pre-Worlds

After all the sugar and dust had settled, Ty Tessman took home the win in both the 2WD and 4WD modified classes.  Ty was also the overall TQ in the 4WD class and only reigning IFMAR World champ Ryan Cavalieri was able to slow him down in qualifying to take the TQ in the 2WD class instead of Ty.  But once the AAAs got underway Ty took his driving to the next level and was able to capture A1 and A2 in both class which secured the sweep for him.


Normally Ty runs Hot Bodies vehicles when competing in off-road nitro events, but since they don’t currently have any production electric off-road vehicles Ty elected to compete with a mid motor Kyosho Ultima RB6 2WD buggy and Team Associated B44.1 4WD buggy.


Due to the increased grip created by the sugar applied to the track that weekend, most drivers opted for a mid motor setup and top Team Associated drivers were seen running CML B4.2 conversions.


Also spotted that weekend was a Kyosho prototype 1/10-scale 4WD buggy piloted by factory driver Jared Tebo. No off body pics were allowed, but it appears to use an aluminum chassis, carbon shock towers with machined aluminum “braws” (tabs in the rear), a machined aluminum slipper mount, and possibly a shorty lipo pack vs. the more traditional saddle packs.


4wd Modified Buggy Top 10 Overall:

1. Ty Tessman (TQ)
2. Ryan Maifield
3. Jared Tebo
4. Lee Martin
5. Ryan Cavalieri
6. Neil Cragg
7. David Ronnefalk
8. Steven Hartson
9. Naoto Matsukura
10. Jorn Neumann


2wd Modified Buggy Top 10 Overall:

1. Ty Tessman
2. Ryan Cavalieri (TQ)
3. Neil Cragg
4. Jorn Neumann
5. Jared Tebo
6. Dustin Evans
7. Kohta Akimoto
8. David Ronnefalk
9. Cody Turner
10. Naoto Matsukura

Photo credits: A Main Hobbies, Orion

[nggallery id=1331]

For more posts about online race coverage, click here.

Never miss an issue of RC Car Action!

Subscribe today with a Digital Edition subscription or Print + Digital combo!


Updated: July 21, 2015 — 3:42 PM
Air Age Media ©