Tekin Wins At 2011 Cabin Fever Hosted By Lucky Acres Arena

Tekin Wins At 2011 Cabin Fever Hosted By Lucky Acres Arena

This year’s Cabin Fever was held at Lucky Acres Arena in Lewiston, ID on February 11, 12 and 13. The race had an amazing turnout this go around, topping out at over 230 total entries, with Nitro Buggy and Truggy, Electric Buggy and Truggy, 4WD and 2WD Open Short Course and 4WD Modified Buggy all jam packed with competition.

1/8 E-Buggy is getting bigger in the North West, with enough racers to fill up three full mains at the Cabin this year. Tekin’s newest Driver, Taylor Petersen, debuted the new Mugen MBX6e ECO powered by a Tekin RX8/2050 T8 combo. Taylor snagged TQ followed closely by Tekin’s Jeremy Potter and his Tekin RX8/2050 T8 powered Hot Bodies Ve8.

1/8 E-Truggy is also growing and the TQ spot would be grabbed by none other that the Prez himself, Jim Campbell, followed by Tekin’s Chris DeWinter in the #2 spot and Ty Campbell in the #3.

4×4 Short Course this year was also a sizeable class with three full heats. Team Driver Jack Leighan came out on top with the TQ spot after qualifying with his Tekin Powered Jammin’. A1 and A2 were both solild runs for Jack and he locked up the top spot early, which let the other drivers fight for the A3 main.

2WD Open Short Course had outstanding entries with 45 trucks. Team Associated’s Justin Wilde and Tekin’s Ty Campbell battled it out in quals for the pole with Justin snagging the TQ spot in the 3rd qualifier with Ty close on his heels. Short Course was stacked with great drivers and the competition was intense.

A1 main was a great battle between Ty and Justin Wilde, finishing with Justin in front and Ty just .9 seconds of his bumper. A2 started a little more hectic with Ty getting punted in the first corner and dropping to 5th which let Justin and Tekin’s Jesse Munn get out in front of the pack. Ty fough back to 3rd but there was no catching the two out front and Justin locked up A2. The final main was a good one, Ty got out clean and never looked back, which secured 2nd place with the win in A3 while Prez snagged 2nd to secure 3rd overall.

With triple A-main format, it was totally up in the air who would land with the two, or in Taylor’s case, three best runs! Taylor brought the heat in E-buggy to win all three A-mains and bring home some shiny hardware for Mugen and Tekin. Jeremy Potter claimed the 2nd spot and Team Losi’s Randy Nolen the third, all three podium drivers running Tekin RX8s and 2050 T8 motors. Tekin’s Jason Hunt finished 4th, Ty and Prez finished 6th overall and 7th overall.

E-Truggy was a fight to the finish in each main, with the Prez cleaning up in A1 and Ty taking the 2nd spot. A2 switched it up a bit with Ty taking the win, followed by DeWinter in the number 2 spot and Prez in the 3. It was all or nothing in A3 between father and son! Both were off to a great clean start and proceeded to pull away from the pack, putting almost an entire lap up on the field and would finish with the Prez taking A3 and the overall with Ty right on his wing the entire race!

Just as last year, the Cabin was well ran, a great track layout, the surface was premiere and the racing was awesome. Dude and the RC Pro Series threw a great event that is getting bigger every year. Only 360 days til the next one!

*Words by Ty Campbell*

Tekin Results:

2WD Open Short Course: 2nd Ty Campbell, 3rd Jim Campbell

4×4 Open Short Course: TQ and 1st Jack Leighan

4WD Modified Buggy: 4th Jason Hunt, 6th Jim Campbell, 10th Ty Campbell

1/8 E-Truggy: TQ and 1st Jim Campbell, 2nd Ty Campbell, 3rd Christopher DeWinter

1/8 E-Buggy: TQ and 1st Taylor Petersen, 2nd Jeremy Potter, 4th Jason Hunt, 5th Jesse Munn, 6th Ty Campbell, 7th Jim Campbell, 8th Lee Hackney, 10th Jack Leighan

Never miss an issue of RC Car Action!

Subscribe today with a Digital Edition subscription or Print + Digital combo!


Updated: July 21, 2015 — 3:20 PM
Air Age Media ©