Team Orion Dominates Silver State

Team Orion Dominates Silver State

Latest race news from Orion:This years Silver State Nitro Challenge was held at the Silver Bowl Park in Las Vegas, NV. Temperatures were consistantly in the upper 60’s as well as gusty winds all week long. The entries reached well over 300 for the event!

The race format consisted of 3 7-minute qualifiers with the 2 best counting for points. 12 drivers would go straight into the A-Main event with a 3 car bump. Then a 45-minute A-Main would be ran to decide the Champion for the 1/8 Pro Nitro Classes.

Team Orion Factory Drivers Jared Tebo, Ryan Cavalieri, Mike Truhe, Cody King, Teemu Leino, Travis Amezcua, and Joe Pillars were all in attendance.

In the 1/8 Pro Buggy Class it was Jared Tebo who TQ’ed overall. Team Orion teammates Mike Truhe would start 2nd, Ryan Cavalieri 3rd, and Cody King 7th. At the start of the 45-minute A-Main Tebo, Truhe, and Cavalieri had a clean start and began to break away from the field. At the halfway point Tebo and Cavalieri had seperated themselves by 1 lap on the field. JT and RC swapped back and forth for the lead several times while racing extremely clean with each other. With 5 laps to go it was Cavalieri leading by less than 5 seconds over Tebo. Tebo closed up the gap with 1 minute remaining but Cavalieri drove perfect not making any mistakes to take home the 1/8 Pro Buggy Championship. Tebo finished a very respectable 2nd overall and Cody King made a hard charge at the end to finish 3rd. This gave Team Orion a clean sweep on the podium!

1. Ryan Cavalieri Team Orion
2. Jared Tebo (TQ) Team Orion
3. Cody King Team Orion
4. Ty Tessman
5. Adam Drake
6. Billy Fisher
7. Ryan Maifield
8. Ryan Lutz
9. Jesse Robbers
10. Mike Truhe Team Orion
11. Travis Amezcua
12. Dylan Rodriguez
13. Jeremy Kortz
14. Bobby Tillman
15. Richard Saxton

Winning Equipement Used By Ryan Cavalieri:

ORI80647 – Team Orion .21 ABI Alpha Engine
ORI88217 – Team Orion 2013 Exhaust Kit
ORI88810 – Team Orion Hot Turbo Glow Plug
ORI12236 – Team Orion 1500 Li-Po Receiver Pack
ORI30127 – Team Orion Race Spec Charger
Charge Rate: 1.5 Amps @ CCCV

Team Orion USA Team Manager Joe Pillars was on hand to help the Team and would also compete in the Pro 2 SC Class. Pillars TQ’ed the last round of qualifying, laying down the fastest run of the weekend. Qualifying was very close and JP would start 3rd on the grid, missing the overall TQ by 1 point.

The Pro 2 SC A-Main would be set for 10-minutes. At the start of the main event Pillars quickly made his way up to the 2nd position. At the halfway point of the race, Pillars started to close the gap with the leader. With 3-minutes remaining in the race, Pillars made a pass for the lead and would never look back. Pillars went ahead to take the win by over 16 seconds to take the Silver State Pro 2 SC Championship with his Kyosho Ultima SC.

1. Joe Pillars (TQ) Team Orion
2. Jason Lopez
3. Brandon Rohde
4. Adrian Redding
5. Casey Peck
6. Shane Lyon
7. Jason Miller
8. Mike Kazz
9. Gus G
10. Steven Sanchez
11. Brandon Pitt
12. Cary Wright
13. Frank Lagomarsino
14. Chris Jarosz
15. Brian Lopez

Winning Equipment Used By Joe Pillars:

ORI65007 Team Orion Vortex Race Spec ESC
ORI28208 Team Orion Vortex 8.5 2010 Motor
ORI14028 Team Orion Molecular 5400 Li-Po Battery
ORI68000 Team Orion VDS-2015 Servo
ORI30127 Team Orion Race Spec Charger
Charge Rate: 5.4 Amps @ CCCV
Geared: 18/82

Travis Amezcua won the 10-minute A-Main Event for the 1/8 Electric Pro Buggy Class with his Team Orion Li-Po powered Mugen!

1. Travis Amezcua Team Orion
2. Josh Wheeler (TQ)
3. Dylan Rodriguez
4. Adam Drake
5. Brent Thielke
6. Bobby Tillman
7. Tyler Vik
8. Phillip Atondo
9. Jesse Robbers
10. Matt Chambers
11. Barry Baker
12. Kyle Johnson
13. Josh Alton
14. Jeremy Kortz
15. Cody King Team Orion

Winning Equipment used by Travis Amezcua:

ORI14020 Team Orion Molecular 5400 Li-Po Battery with Deans Connector

Trevor “Chilly” Duncan
Online News Editor
Radio Control Car Action

Never miss an issue of RC Car Action!

Subscribe today with a Digital Edition subscription or Print + Digital combo!


Updated: July 20, 2015 — 4:54 PM
Air Age Media ©