Traxxas Angle Of Attack Wireless Module

Traxxas 4-TEC 3.0: July Issue

Your Ride Can Be Featured Here!

Smooth Out Your Ride: The Basics of Shock Maintenance

Bearings: Continuing the Momentum

The Monster Returns – A long-term review of the Redcat Kaiju 1/8 Monster Truck

RotorDronePro Magazine - Subscribe Now!

Ultimate Responsive Image Slider Plugin Powered By Weblizar


Big money at FAST RC Worlds

Big money at FAST RC Worlds

How big? Try $10K for the invitational classes and $15K for the Sportsman! The dough is spread out amongst 1/10 and 1/12 classes, mod for the Invite guys and stock for the Sportsman. RC Car Action will be there--will you? More info here.
Team Losi Sweeps IFMAR Off-Road World Championships!

Team Losi Sweeps IFMAR Off-Road World Championships!

Team Losi drivers made history at the 2002 IFMAR Off-Road World Championships taking the top qualifying position and finishing first and second in both the 2WD and 4WD classes. This year’s event, held in Pretoria, South Africa, marks the first time a single RC car manufacturer has won and TQ’d every class at the most prestigious off-road event in the world. Matt Francis and his Trinity-powered Team Losi Triple-X4 prototype and Triple-X buggies took the top qualifying positions in both 4WD and 2WD, and Matt went on to win the 2WD class with teamate Brian Kinwald in tow. Jukka Steenari, the 2000 IFMAR 4WD champ and Team Losi’s newest engineer, repeated as the 4WD World Champion using Orion power. Matt was a close second in a race that saw Team Losi cars finish 1-2-3-4-5-7-9, and overall, more A-Main finalists at the Worlds used Team Losi cars than all other manufactures combined.

Congratulations to Team Losi, and stay tuned for reports from the IFMAR On-Road Worlds soon!

Spec Tires for Mod Nats?

Spec Tires for Mod Nats?

Yes and no. The Associated, Losi, Kyosho, Proline, X-5 and Peak/Orion teams have agreed to run spec tires, but you can run whatever you like (according to race host RC Madness).
Click here for the official announcement at the RC Zone.

From the Team Losi site: "In 2005 ROAR announced that it would discontinue the spec tire rule for the Electric Offroad Nationals. In an effort to control costs and insure a level playing field, Team Associated, Team Losi, Kyosho, Proline, X-5 and Peak/Orion have agreed to compete at this event hosted by RC Madness in Enfield, CT with a spec tire and insert. Also, following in the footsteps of the recent IFMAR ruling, tire additives will not be used by the teams at this event."

"The driving force behind this unprecedented decision is the cost associated with attending an event of this magnitude. Now the average racer can show up to the event with one type of tire and be assured they will compete against the best without a disadvantage in tire tread, compound or insert."

The mutually agreed upon tires will use the packaged inserts and are:
2wd Front: Open
Rear: Proline 8184-02 (M3 Holeshots)

4wd Front: Losi 7282R (Red Blockheads)
Rear: Losi 7369R (Red X-2000)

Truck Front: Losi 7505R (Red Directionals)
Rear: Proline 8192-01 (M3 Holeshots)

Surikarn and Cavalieri Win Reedy Race!

Surikarn and Cavalieri Win Reedy Race!

Tamiya factory pilot Surikarn Chaidajsuriya put the smack down on the Invitational class at the Reedy Touring Car Race of Champions this weekend, with pro drivers Greg Hodapp (XRAY) and Atshushi Hara (HPI) in tow. In the Open class, Team Losi's Ryan Cavalieri took a break from off-road just long enough to smoke the field with his Trinity D6-powered Team Losi Triple-XS, beating fellow Losi driver Mike Truhe and Associated's Brad Thielke. In 19-Turn class action, Charlie Suangka won with his Novak-powered Tamiya TRF 415. All the 19-Turn drivers ran Reedy Spec 19 motors.

First image
Reedy Race winner Surikarn Chaidajsuriya (center), second place finisher Greg Hodapp (left) and third place driver Atsushi Hara (right) pose with their hardware.

Second image
Open Class champ Ryan Cavalieri (center), second place finisher Mike Truhe (left), and third-place driver Brad Thielke (right).

Third image
First-place guy Charlie Suagnka (Novak shirt) and second-place EJ Evans are the bread in this Miss Becky sandwich. Charlie Albrecht (right) finished third.

Atsushi Hara wins ROAR 1/10 Fuel Sedan Nationals!

Atsushi Hara wins ROAR 1/10 Fuel Sedan Nationals!

Atsushi Hara put on an excellent display of driving ability to win his second consecutive ROAR Fuel Sedan National Championship in his HPI R40. Mike Blackstock finished in second place in his Associated NTC3. Chris Tossolini took third place in his Kyosho FW05R. While seven different brands of cars were represented in the race, Associated, HPI, Kyosho and Mugen were the brands fighting for the lead. Mikey Swauger in his Mugen MTX3 had taken the lead late in the race, but his receiver pack died with eight minutes to go. Atsushi put in a near perfect performance, with an excellent display of driving skill, and was up near the front or in the lead for the entire hour-long race.

Tebo and Bradley get it done at The Dirt

Team Associated/Kyosho/O’Donnell ace Jared “The Kid” Tebo (who just turned 18 this past weekend) won both the 1/10-scale and 1/8-scale pro classes at The Dirt Nitro Challenge.
In the Unlimited Monster Truck class, Mugen’s Chad Bradley TQ’d and won with the new Mugen MBX5-T truggy, which will be offered as a conversion kit for the MBX-5 buggy.
Tebo was top qualifier in 1/10-scale and managed to break away from an early battle with Team Trinity/Losi’s Adam Drake. In 1/8-scale, Jared put in a valiant effort late in the race to pass Kyosho/Peak driver Mark Pavidis with just a couple minutes remaining in the race. Eight-scale TQ Ryan Cavalieri passed Pavidis with seconds remaining to grab second.
While Bradley TQ’d and won the monster truck class, Matt Gosch put in a strong showing taking second place earning him a100% Pro-Line ride—and did we mention he’s just 13 years old?. Mugen’s Jason Ashton (also running an MBX5-T) was on fire, and bumped all the way up from the G-main (the lowest Main for monster trucks) to take home third place. Ashton even led part of the A-main despite being 12th on the grid for the start of the race.

1/8-scale Pro
•1st Jared Tebo Kyosho MP-777
•2nd Ryan Cavalieri(TQ) Kyosho MP-777
•3rd Mark Pavidis Kyosho MP-777

1/10-scale Pro
•1st Jared Tebo (TQ) Team Associated GT
•2nd Adam DrakeTeam Losi Triple X-NT AD2
•3rd Jeremy Kortz Team Associated GT

Unlimited Monster Truck
•1st Chad Bradley (TQ) Mugen MBX5-T
•2nd Matt Gosch Hot Bodies Lighting Pro
•3rd Jason Ashton Mugen MBX5-T

Factory Team TC4 revealed!

Factory Team TC4 revealed!

The big news at RCX was the debut of the Factory Team TC4. Much more than the usual titanium turnbuckles and blue stuff, the Factory TC4 showed off a plate graphite chassis. The setup represents a new level of adjustability for the TC4. A graphite “spine” bridges the upper and lower decks, and four screws in the top deck can be loosened or removed to adjust the car’s torsional ridgidity without compromising front-to-rear stiffness. Graphite shock towers, MIP CVDs, and aluminum arm mounts are standard. There are also new aluminum components used to replace parts normally molded into the stock chassis. Looks tight!

Talk about it here
Adrien Bertin/Kyosho/Sirio win the IFMAR Worlds

Adrien Bertin/Kyosho/Sirio win the IFMAR Worlds

France's Adrien Bertin has won the IFMAR 200mm World Championship in Sao Paulo, Brazil. Takaaki Shimo from Japan finished in second place, and Chris Tosolini from the USA took third place. The Kyosho/Sirio cars not only dominated qualifying, but placed eight cars in the Final, finishing in 1st, 2nd, 3rd, 4th, 5th, 7th, 8th, and 10th! See the results page for detailed results. A report on the race can be found at Click Here along with lots of pictures and discussion on our forums.

Timing and Scoring page courtesy of JLap Race Manager Software.
Air Age Media © 2021