Orion wins 2 classes at ROAR 2010 Off-road Electric Nationals

Orion wins 2 classes at ROAR 2010 Off-road Electric Nationals

Latest race news from Orion:

The 2010 ROAR Electric Modified Off-Road Nationals were held last weekend in Joliet, IL. at Leisure Hours Raceway. This was the same facility and track where the 2009 ROAR Nitro Off-Road Nationals were held. The track was shorted by length and depth to better fit the 1/10 scale vehicles. The track layout was very technical with many hi-speed sections and challenging jumps. This years event brought over 300 total entries from the Nations best drivers.

The race format went as follows: Wednesday and Thursday was practice. Friday and Saturday was 2 rounds of qualifying each day. Sunday would be only the Main Events with all the A-Mains running Triples.

In the Modified Truck Class it was Team Orion’s Jared Tebo who would start 2nd on the grid and Team Orion’s Ryan Cavalieri that would start 3rd on the grid for the Triple A-Main Events.

In A-Main #1, it was Tebo who followed closely behind the TQ Dustin Evans until he made a mistake. Tebo got by and took the lead with 4-minutes remaining. Tebo then lead the rest of the way to take home A-Main #1 by over 4 seconds! Truhe would finish 2nd and Fischer 3rd.

In A-Main #2, Evans and Tebo once again would battle it out early. Tebo would eventually get by Evans and pull away. With 1-minute remaining, Tebo put it on cruise control and would take the win in A-Main #2! Tebo would be able to watch the 3rd A-Main as he was crowned the 2010 ROAR Electric Off-Road Modified Truck National Champion! Evans would finish 2nd and Truhe 3rd.

Ryan Cavalieri would go onto win A-Main #3 to put him on the podium in the 3rd position overall.

Modified Truck Top 10 Overall

1. Jared Tebo – Team Orion
2. Mike Truhe
3. Ryan Cavalieri – Team Orion
4. Dustin Evans (TQ)
5. Billy Fischer
6. Matt Chambers
7. Dakotah Phend
8. Ty Tessman
9. Frank Root
10. Steven Hartson

In the 4wd Modified Class, the overall TQ would be decided in the last round of qualifying. Tebo TQ’ed round #1, Cavalieri TQ’ed round #2 and round #3. Tebo went on to TQ round #4 with a fast enough time to give him the overall TQ in the class. Cavalieri would start 2nd for the Triple A-Mains.

In A-Main #1, Tebo got a clean start with Cavalieri right behind him. The two began to pull away from the field after only a couple laps. Cavalieri made a pass on Tebo and then laid down some fast laps to try and stretch out his lead. At the end of the Main Event, it was Cavalieri being the only driver to make it by for the 15th lap to take home the win! Maifield would finish 2nd and Tebo 3rd.

In A-Main #2, Tebo was on a mission and would lead every lap to take home the win. This would stretch the National Championship to a 3rd and final A-Main. Cavalieri finished 2nd and Truhe 3rd.

In A-Main #3, Tebo and Cavalieri made a few mistakes early handing the lead to Ryan Maifield. Maifield held on for the win in A-Main #3. Phend would finish 2nd and Tebo 3rd.

The Championship came down to a tie-break between Ryan Cavalieri and Ryan Maifield both with a 1st and a 2nd. Since Cavalieri was the only driver to make 15 laps in the first A-Main, he won the tie breaker and would be the 4wd Modified Buggy National Champion for 2010!

4wd Modified Buggy Top 10 Overall

1. Ryan Cavalieri – Team Orion
2. Ryan Maifield
3. Jared Tebo (TQ) – Team Orion
4. Dakotah Phend
5. Dustin Evans
6. Mike Truhe
7. Matt Chambers
8. Jesse Robbers
9. Billy Fischer
10. Frank Root

Congratulations, drivers, for this great performance – once again! And thanks, Joe, for your great report!

Trevor “Chilly” Duncan
Online News Editor
Radio Control Car Action

Never miss an issue of RC Car Action!

Subscribe today with a Digital Edition subscription or Print + Digital combo!


Updated: October 27, 2010 — 12:16 PM
Air Age Media ©