Kyosho wins at Cactus Classic

Kyosho wins at Cactus Classic

Latest race news from Kyosho:

The 24th Annual Cactus Classic was hosted by Scottsdale R/C Speedway in picture perfect Scottsdale, Arizona. This years event brought top drivers from acrossed the county and even a few select from as far as Japan and Europe that gave the event an International feel. The Cactus is best known for its very well ran race program and great weather…these two things alone always keeps people coming back year after year.

The format for this years event had open practice on Wednesday and Thursday. Then 2 qualifiers on Friday, 2 re-sorted qualifiers on Saturday, and the Main Events on Sunday.

In the Modified Truck Class, it was Kyosho’s Jared Tebo who TQ’ed 3 out of the 4 possible rounds of qualifying that guaranteed him overall TQ with his Team Orion powered Kyosho RT5. Jared picked up where he left off in qualifying by dominated the first two A-Mains while never giving up the lead to take home the Championship! This also makes it the 4th big race in a row that Tebo has TQ’ed and Won with his RT5: 2009 Hot Rod Hobbies Shootout, 2009 Reedy Truck Race of Champions, 2010 Winter Mid-West Champs, and now the 2010 Cactus Classic!

Jared also finished very well in the other 2 classes he competed in by finishing 2nd overall in the 2wd Modified Class with his RB5-SP and 3rd overall in the 4wd Modified Class with his Lazer ZX5-FS…landing on the podium in all three!

Modified Truck Overall Finishing Order

1. Jared Tebo (TQ) Kyosho Ultima RT5
2. Ryan Maifield
3. Ryan Cavalieri
4. Dustin Evans
5. Billy Fischer
6. Steven Hartson
7. Mike Truhe
8. Matt Chambers
9. Ronnie Gardner
10. Kohta Akimoto Kyosho Ultima RT5

In the Short Course Pro 2 Class, it was Kyosho’s Mark Pavidis that dominated the 15-Minute A-Main event to take home the 2nd big win in a row for Kyosho’s SC (Pillars won the Silver State the week before) and AKA’s debut Win with the all new Wishbone SC Tire in Soft Compound. Kyosho America Team Manager Joe Pillars finished 3rd overall with his Kyosho Ultima SC and AKA Tires making the only two Kyosho SC’s in the main event both on the podium!

Short Course Pro 2 Overall Finishing Order

1. Mark Pavidis Kyosho Ultima SC
2. Kody Numedahl (TQ)
3. Joe Pillars Kyosho Ultima SC
4. Ronnie Gardner
5. James Gallatin
6. Jake Thayer
7. Humpty Helms
8. Mac Mitchell
9. Lee Martin
10. Richard Lake

Trevor “Chilly” Duncan
Online News Editor
Radio Control Car Action

Never miss an issue of RC Car Action!

Subscribe today with a Digital Edition subscription or Print + Digital combo!


Updated: July 20, 2015 — 4:54 PM
Air Age Media ©