Kyosho Race Report on the 13th Annual Hot Rod Hobbies Shootout

Kyosho Race Report on the 13th Annual Hot Rod Hobbies Shootout

Latest race news from Kyosho:

The 13th Annual Hot Rod Hobbies Shootout was held July 16th-18th in Saugus, California. This years event brought 305 total entries which included the Nations best drivers. The weather was very hot all week long reaching into the triple digits many times making it the hottest Shootout in history.

Kyosho’s Jared Tebo has been on fire in the Modified Truck class for over the past year with his Team Orion powered RT5. Since this race last year, Tebo and his RT5 have been undefeated at every major race. This includes: 2009 HRH Shootout, 2009 Reedy Truck Race of Champions, 2010 CRCRC Winter Mid-West Champs, 2010 Cactus Classic. Tebo was looking to keep the streak alive at this years HRH Shootout where it all started.

The race format went as follows:

Friday: 2 5-Minute Qualifiers
Saturday: 2 5-Minute Qualifiers
Sunday: Triple A-Mains

*The points system was used taking each drivers 2 best points toward their overall qualifying position

Tebo went on to TQ all 4 rounds of qualifying to give him the top spot on the grid for the Triple A-Mains.

In A-Main #1 Tebo and 2nd qualifier Ryan Maifield battled it out for the first 3-minutes of the race swapping back and forth for the lead. With 2-minutes to go, Tebo made a pass back for the lead and held on to take the win!

In A-Main #2 Tebo got a clean start and began to put in fast consistant laps. At the halfway point of the main Tebo had a 2 second lead on the field and began to stretch it out. When the checkered flag waved, it was Tebo crossing the finish line first to take home the Modified Truck Championship…Again!

This extended the streak to 5 races in a row for JT and the RT5!

Congrats also goes out to Cody King for finishing 10th overall in 2wd Modified Buggy and Tyler Vik for finishing 7th overall in 4wd Modified Buggy!

Modified Truck Overall Top 10

1. Jared Tebo (TQ) Kyosho RT5
2. Ryan Cavalieri
3. Ryan Maifield
4. Dustin Evans
5. Matt Chambers
6. Billy Fischer
7. Mike Truhe
8. Steven Hartson
9. Brian Kinwald
10. Frank Root

Trevor “Chilly” Duncan
Online News Editor
Radio Control Car Action

Never miss an issue of RC Car Action!

Subscribe today with a Digital Edition subscription or Print + Digital combo!


Updated: July 20, 2015 — 4:49 PM
Air Age Media ©