Jared Tebo Takes Neo 2011 Title

Jared Tebo Takes Neo 2011 Title

Jared Tebo captured his 3rd Neo title Monday as he set the overall TQ and never looked back during the 45 minute 1/8 Buggy A Main. This is his 3rd Neo title overall with past TQs and wins in 2005 and 2009.

Tebo has been on fire recently in 1/8 Nitro with a double TQ and win in Truggy and Buggy at the 2011 Nitro Challenge, TQ and 3rd place finish at the 1/8 IFMAR Worlds in Thailand, and he is also the defending 2010 ROAR 1/8 National Champion in both Truggy (TQ) and Buggy.

Full race report:

The 2011 NeoBuggy Race was once again held at Harper Adams in the UK during the week of April 22nd – 25th. The NeoBuggy Race is known as the biggest race of the year in Europe along with the 1/8 Euros later in the year. Kyosho had one of the largest teams at the event consisting of 2-Time Winner Jared Tebo, Current 1/8 World Champion Cody King, Jerome Aigion, Shin Adachi, and young talent David Ronnefalk.

After the 3rd round of qualifying was ran, the prestigious NeoBuggy 2011 Juniors A-Main Event was ran. This is always a big event for the up and coming kids of R/C. This years winner was Kyosho/Team Orion/AKA’s David Ronnefalk who would go onto take the win over some very tough competition with his Kyosho MP9 TKI2 WC. In 2nd place was World’s Finalist Kyle McBride for Durango with Micke Johansson rounding out the podium with his Kyosho MP9 TKI2 WC!

All through qualifying it was actually AKA’s Ryan Lutz running his new Durango DNX408 that was setting the pace and turning the fastest times, but it was all down to Q6 to see who would take the top qualifying spot. After qualifying was complete, it was Kyosho/Team Orion/AKA’s Jared Tebo that would TQ the event with his Kyosho MP9 TKI WC with AKA’s Ryan Lutz qualifying 2nd. This would put Jared into the odd Semi where he would start first. Tebo would then go onto win the Semi Final in convincing fashion to guarantee him the first starting position for the 45-minute A-Main Event. Also making the A-Main for Kyosho was Cody King, Jerome Aigoin, and Shin Adachi making it 4 Kyosho buggies in the A-Main! Kyosho would have the most cars in the A-Main by any manufacturer!

As the tone went off to start the 45-minute A-Main, Tebo started out with a fast and consistant pace to pull away from the field each lap. After the first round of pit stops, it was still Tebo out front and stretching out his lead. Now approaching the halfway point of the A-Main, Tebo had built up a 17 second lead on 2nd place. As the race ended, it was Tebo crossing the finish line first being the only driver to made it by for the 76th lap! This would also be Tebo’s 3rd time attending the NeoBuggy Race and for the 3rd time he has left as the Champion!

AKA is also very proud that nine of the 15 drivers in the main event choose AKA tires to go for the win. Three times as many as the next closest tire company and overall the most preferred brand in the final.

The tire of choice in the main event was the IMPACT Super Soft (14007VR) on the EVO wheel (24003W/Y) with the Red insert (34001S).

Neo 2011 Results

1. Jared Tebo 76/45’32.661 – Team Orion | Kyosho MP9 TKI2 WC | AKA
2. Robert Batlle 75/45’20.611
3. Ryan Cavalieri 75/45’20.806 – Team Orion
4. Darren Bloomfield 75/45’35.388 AKA
5. Neil Cragg 74/45’15.443
6. Ryan Maifield 73/45’1.976
7. Cody King 72/45’11.040 – Team Orion | Kyosho MP9 TKI2 WC | AKA
8. Martin Bayer 72/45’14.406 AKA
9. Adam Drake 71/45’9.267 AKA
10. Jerome Aigoin 70/45’13.087 Kyosho MP9 TKI2 WC | AKA
11. Atsushi Hara 70/45’13.493
12. Simon Willetts 69/45’8.052 AKA
13. Jorn Neumann 69/45’28.218
14. Shin Adachi 60/45’45.073 – Team Orion | Kyosho MP9 TKI2 WC | AKA
15. Ryan Lutz 59/36’8.096 AKA

Photo courtesy: LiveRC, NeoBuggy
RC Car Action - RC Cars & Trucks | Jared Tebo Takes Neo 2011 TitleRC Car Action - RC Cars & Trucks | Jared Tebo Takes Neo 2011 Title

Never miss an issue of RC Car Action!

Subscribe today with a Digital Edition subscription or Print + Digital combo!


Updated: July 20, 2015 — 4:37 PM
Air Age Media ©