Great Snake Shootout: Tekin Wins

Great Snake Shootout: Tekin Wins

Round 4 of the Northwest Championship Tour in Lewiston, Id brought us the Great Snake Shootout. This year the GSS raked in over 220 1/10 and 1/8 scale entries, more than years passed. Despite the higher level of competition, the Tekin Team came through with multiple wins for the weekend.

The mornings consisted of 1/10 scale racing, which started off with Team Driver Jesse Munn taking the TQ and win in the hotly contested Pro2 Modified Short Course class. Jesse also finished 2nd in 2WD Modified Buggy and 2nd in Pro 1/8 Nitro Buggy!

Team Driver Dave Gullickson dominated stock and mod truck, rocking a Redline 17.5 and RS ESC! 17.5 winning mod truck, what?! You read right, Dave threw down the same truck in both stock and modified, pulling a double TQ and win!

Ty Campbell debuted the new Pro4 Short Course brushless motor in style, starting 2nd on the grid with the Losi Ten SCTE, right behind privateer Jason Tjepmka who was also running a Pro4/RX8 equipped SCTE. Third on the grid was privateer Nick Buechler with his RX8/SC4x 4.5 equipped SC104x4. Ty wrapped up the win early winning the A1 and A2 mains letting Jason and Nick battle it out in A3. (Check out the video of the Pro4 in action below)

On the 1/8 scale side of the arena, Team Driver and newest Tekin employee Jeremy Potter with his dialed RX8/T8 1900 Hot Bodies Ve8 TQ’d the biggest E-buggy turnout the NCT series has had all year. Starting 1st on a grid of 10 of the fastest drivers in the northwest, Jeremy held it together threw down great A1 and A2 mains, securing the win and a front row seat to watch the A3 battle.

E-Truggy was the class to watch with drivers clearing the quad section a nitro could only dream about. TQ’d by privateer Mike Lussoro the mains were competitive but fun for all. Jim “The Prez” Campbell won A1 but Ty Campbell came back to win A2 and A3 after starting 2nd on the grid. Ty used the super quad section to make up a little bit of time on a few laps and all the truggy drivers put on a great show of horsepower.

Tekin Results:

2WD Modified Buggy: 2nd Jesse Munn

Pro2 Modified Short Course: TQ & 1st Jesse Munn, 4th Lee Hackney

Pro4 Modified Short Course: 1st Ty Campbell

2WD Modified Stadium Truck: TQ & 1st Dave Gullickson

2WD Stock Stadium Truck: TQ & 1st Dave Gullickson

1/8 Pro E-Buggy: TQ & 1st Jeremy Potter, 4th Lee Hackney, 5th Ty Campbell, 8th Jim Campbell

1/8 Pro E-Truggy: 1st Ty Campbell, 2nd Jim Campbell

Ty Campbell running the Pro4 4600kV, A1 Main:

[nggallery id=418]

Never miss an issue of RC Car Action!

Subscribe today with a Digital Edition subscription or Print + Digital combo!


Updated: July 21, 2015 — 3:16 PM
Air Age Media ©