TRX-4 Winch

Dean Wilson Scores Third Supercross Win For Pro Circuit/Kawasaki/Traxxas

Dean Wilson Scores Third Supercross Win For Pro Circuit/Kawasaki/Traxxas

Arlington, TX: Supercross action came to the new Cowboy Stadium on April 2, and Traxxas-sponsored Dean Wilson made sure the stadium’s famous mega-screen TV was full of Kawasaki green as he claimed his third win of the 2011 season, stacking his Round-8 victory in Atlanta with back-to-back wins in Toronto and Texas.

Wilson and Pro Circuit/Kawasaki/Traxxas teammate Blake Baggett transferred easily to the 250 Lites Main with Baggett taking the win in Heat 2 and Wilson finishing third. Wilson found himself in third again as the Main got underway, with rival Justin Barcia earning the holeshot and Heat-1 winner Ryan Sipes slotting into second. The two front-runners exchanged the lead twice before Sipes crashed out on lap four, allowing Barcia to reassume the lead and Wilson to move into second. Relentlessly, Wilson shaved time from his laps and drew Barcia in like a tractor beam. Barcia fought to retain the lead, but Wilson would not be denied and took over the lead on lap 14. Barcia challenged him at every turn but Wilson simply out-rode his rival to keep his Kawasaki KX250F in front all the way to the checkers

“This (win) means so much,” said Wilson. “It wasn’t an easy race. I’ve been battling the stomach flu all day. I just kept pushing and didn’t give up. It went all to way to last lap, which was fun for everyone here. I made a pass on him and he got me back, then I got by again, he stuffed me and I stalled. I had one last chance to get him and I stuck it.”

Based in Plano, Texas, Traxxas has been building the world’s fastest Ready-To-Race® radio controlled vehicles for over 24 years. Traxxas models are sold exclusively in Hobby Stores, 4-Wheel Parts, and Pep Boys.

2011 Monster Energy Supercross Schedule

January 8 • Anaheim, CA – WINNER Josh Hansen, Broc Tickle 2, Tyla Rattray 3
January 15 • Phoenix, AZ – WINNER Josh Hansen, Broc Tickle 2
January 22 • Los Angeles, CA
January 29 • Oakland, CA – WINNER Broc Tickle, Josh Hansen 2
February 5 • Anaheim, CA – WINNER Josh Hansen
February 12 • Houston, TX – Dean Wilson 2, Blake Baggett 3
February 19 • San Diego, CA – Tyla Rattray 2, Broc Tickle 3
February 26 • Atlanta, GA – WINNER Dean Wilson, Blake Baggett 3
March 5 • Daytona, FL– WINNER Blake Baggett
March 12 • Indianapolis, IN–
March 19 • Jacksonville, FL– Dean Wilson 3
March 26 • Toronto, ON – WINNER Dean Wilson
April 2 • Arlington, TX – WINNER Dean Wilson
April 9 • St. Louis, MO
April 16 • Seattle, WA
April 30 • Salt Lake City, UT
May 7 • Las Vegas, NV

Never miss an issue of RC Car Action!

Subscribe today with a Digital Edition subscription or Print + Digital combo!

Eaglemoss Jeep willys 600x120
Updated: July 21, 2015 — 4:49 PM

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Air Age Media © 2021