Cody King and AKA – 2010 IFMAR World Champions

Cody King and AKA – 2010 IFMAR World Champions
cody king, 2011 ifmar winner, ifmar world championships, 1/8 off road buggy, pattaya thailand, rc, radio-control

Latest race news from AKA:AKA would like to congratulate Cody King and Jared Tebo on an outstanding performance at the 2010 IFMAR World Championship in Pattaya, Thailand. The 2010 field was arguably the best collection of driving talent and equipment to date at a World Championship and the tire battle was at a fever pitch. With new releases for this event from all the tire manufactures, including AKA, the stage was set for an amazing race. From the start Jared Tebo and Cody King were fast in qualifying and were destined to make it through to the final. At the end of qualifying it was Jared Tebo taking home the TQ honors for AKA, Kyosho and Team Orion. Jared along with all the AKA sponsored drivers use the new EVO buggy wheel (24003W, 24003Y) with the EVO stiffeners (34003W, 34003Y) and the new soft foam insert (34001S) to give them the consistency to go fast on what is being called the most difficult track in the history of IFMAR 1:8 buggy world championships. Jared used two tire combinations in qualifying. His first combination was the CITY-BEAM setup using soft CITYBLOCK (14002S) tires up front and soft I-BEAM (14001S) tires in the rear. The other combination Jared used was our new IMPACT (14007S) tires in soft on all four corners. The rest of the AKA drivers chose the IMPACT (14007S) tire throughout qualifying.

When the dust settled in the two semi finals AKA had put four cars in the main event. Jared Tebo, Cody King, Jeremy Kortz and 14 year old phenom from Australia Kyle McBride. AKA was tied for the most tires in the final from one manufacture. All AKA drivers chose to run the EVO Wheel, Soft Red Insert, IMPACT combination in the main. In the early going of the final it was Jared Tebo battling with Ryan Mayfield and Cody King. Around the 30 minute mark Cody took the lead and never looked back as he went on to take the win at the 2010 IFMAR World Championships. AKA also placed three cars in the top four and four out of the top five ran AKA tires.

AKA would like to thank Cody King, Paul King, Jared Tebo, Joe Pillars, Mark Pavidis, Adrien Bertin (Team Orion), Jeremy Kortz, Kyle McBride and all the participants running AKA tires for an outstanding performance at only our second attempt at winning a World Championship. We could not ask for a better result!

AKA Products… World Champion Products by World Champions!

Cody King – World Champion, 2nd Qualifier, IMPACT-EVO-Red Soft Insert
Jared Tebo – 3rd Place, Top Qualifier, IMPACT-EVO-Red Soft Insert
Kyle McBride – 4th Place, 28th Qualifier, IMPACT-EVO-Red Soft Insert
Jeremy Kortz – 5th Place, 14th Qualifier, IMPACT-EVO-Red Soft Insert

IMPACT (14007S) – Available Now
EVO Wheels (24003W, 24003Y) – Available Now
Soft Red Insert (34001S) – Available Jan 1st

Photos Courtesy of John Cary Photography

Trevor “Chilly” Duncan
Online News Editor
Radio Control Car Action

Never miss an issue of RC Car Action!

Subscribe today with a Digital Edition subscription or Print + Digital combo!


Updated: July 20, 2015 — 4:45 PM
Air Age Media ©