BRCA Nationals Round 1: Schumacher Wins

BRCA Nationals Round 1: Schumacher Wins

The first round of the highly anticipated BRCA Touring Car Nationals took place this last weekend with the Schumacher Team present and Chris Grainger trying to once again repeat his British Championship winning ways again with the Mi4CX.

The West London circuit was looking in fine fettle as the club have spent a lot of time and money over the winter improving the facilities, including a complete re-surface of the track. The new surface provided excellent traction however getting clean runs provided difficult even for the best drivers in the country.

Schumacher’s Chris Grainger TQ’ed the final round 6 of qualifying to take the overall TQ with his Mi4CX in what maybe was a surprise to some, however Chris kept his nerve and kept it clean throughout qualifying to take the top spot, which is a large advantage on such a tight track.

In the Pro Stock Class 3 drivers battled for the TQ position, Ayrton Anderson, Schumacher’s James Hart and last year’s champion Jon Bowden. In the end Ayrton nailed it down with a pretty dominant set of qualifying results and Jon would line up ahead of James’s Mi4CX on the grid.

The first modified A final saw Chris manage to stay ahead of the fast charging pack all of who were making small errors, Elliot pushed very strongly at the end but could not find a way past. The second final saw major drama for Chris at the mid-way point when his car suddenly stopped while leading. It was later traced to his 2.4ghz system in his radio switching off for some reason. Elliot took the win in that leg, setting it up for the decider in leg 3.

Just as in qualifying and the first leg Chris controlled the lead from the start and took leg 3 victory from former World Champ Andy Moore to wrap up a fantastic first National win for the season.

1 Chris Grainger – Mi4CX
2 Elliott Harper
3 Olly Jefferies
4 Andy Moore
5 Alan Bickerstaff
6 Chris Kerswell
7 Matthew White – Mi4CX
8 Jonathan Aird
9 Paul Pinkney – Mi4CX
10 Russell Williams

In the Pro Stock A finals there was no catching Ayrton Anderson this weekend, but Schumacher’s James Hart took overall second place improving on his grip position with a solid set of finals.

1 Ayrton Anderson
2 James Hart – Mi4CX
3 Ryan Edwards
4 Chris Slater
5 Jon Bowden
6 Chris Neff
7 Sam Clifton – Mi4CX
8 Zak Smith
9 Darren Lee – Mi4CX
10 Bryan Loynes

Overall a fantastic weekend for the team with 3 cars in the Modified final with Chris, Matt White and Paul Pinkney and 3 cars in the Pro Stock A final, James, Sam Clifton and Darren Lee. The next round moves onto the Cotswolds track next month.

Congratulations to all the drivers.

Never miss an issue of RC Car Action!

Subscribe today with a Digital Edition subscription or Print + Digital combo!


Updated: May 16, 2011 — 9:35 AM
Air Age Media ©