2012 IFMAR World Championships – Qualifying Wrap-Up

Former European Champion Robert Batlle will start on pole for the even semifinal.

With the weather forecast for the week showing imminent disaster, the choice was made to run the fifth round of qualifying on Wednesday after rounds 3 and 4 – which turned out to be the right decision, as the skies opened up on Thursday and prevented any chance of completing the sixth and final round of qualifying. The IFMAR Worlds schedule calls for two days of main events, with lower finals running tomorrow and the world champion being crowned on Saturday.


Round Three

Elliot Boots picked up the pace in round three, grabbing the round TQ after scoring a 3 and an 11 in the first two rounds. The young British Champion narrowly edged Batlle, who looks to be Mugen Seiki’s best chance of winning in the new MBX7’s debut, while ROAR National Champ Ty Tessman backed up a strong first day of qualifying with the third spot. Ryan Maifield improved from his two previous rounds, moving up from 10th to 4th and giving himself a great chance to make the semi out of qualifying with three strong top-10 runs.

Pos Name Chassis Engine Time Country
1 Elliot Boots Kyosho Novarossi 14/10:39.259 Great Britain
2 Robert Batlle Mugen Novarossi 14/10:41.101 Spain
3 Ty Tessman Hot Bodies O.S. 14/10:43.192 Canada
4 Ryan Maifield Associated LRP 13/10:01.809 USA
5 Lee Martin Mugen Novarossi 13/10:02.283 Great Britain
6 Atsushi Hara Hot Bodies O.S. 13/10:03.450 Japan
7 Kyle McBride Kyosho O.S. 13/10:04.028 Australia
8 Martin Bayer XRAY LRP 13/10:04.400 Czech Republic
9 Yannick Aigoin Associated nVision 13/10:05.874 France
10 Jared Tebo Kyosho Orion 13/10:07.983 USA
11 Taylor Petersen Mugen Alpha 13/10:08.913 USA
12 Dakotah Phend TLR Orion 13/10:10.694 USA

Round Four

American XRAY driver Josh Wheeler had his breakout race at the 2002 IFMAR Worlds in Indonesia, finishing 4th at the age of 17. Ten years later he TQ’d the fourth round, leading a 1-2-3- sweep for USA drivers. The biggest surprise of the fourth round was undoubtedly A Main Hobbies’ team driver Dylan Rodriguez, who finished second for the round in his first Worlds appearance by less than two-tenths of a second over 2010 Top Qualifier Jared Tebo.

Pos Name Chassis Engine Time Country
1 Josh Wheeler XRAY O.S. 13/10:14.317 USA
2 Dylan Rodriguez Kyosho O.S. 13/10:15.599 USA
3 Jared Tebo Kyosho Orion 13/10:15.771 USA
4 Yannick Aigoin Associated nVision 13/10:16.073 France
5 Ryan Maifield Associated LRP 13/10:16.138 USA
6 Jerome Aigoin Kyosho Novarossi 13/10:16.906 France
7 Elliot Boots Kyosho Novarossi 13/10:18.263 Great Britain
8 David Ronnefalk Kyosho Orion 13/10:19.290 Sweden
9 Davide Tortorici Mugen Bliss 13/10:19.847 France
10 Renato Tradardi Jr. Associated Novarossi 13/10:19.709 Venezuela
11 Taylor Petersen Mugen Alpha 13/10:20.139 USA
12 Travis Amezcua XRAY Novarossi 13/10:21.794 USA

Round Five

These Boots were made for walkin’ – with the biggest margin of victory of the week, Elliot Boots destroyed the field by nearly 13 seconds in the fifth round. Though the drivers may not have known it at the time, this was the final round of the week.

Pos Name Chassis Engine Time Country
1 Elliot Boots Kyosho Novarossi 13/10:04.162 Great Britain
2 Ryan Maifield Associated LRP 13/10:17.157 USA
3 Davide Tortorici Mugen Bliss 13/10:18.875 Italy
4 Robert Batlle Mugen Novarossi 13/10:18.903 Spain
5 Jared Tebo Kyosho Orion 13/10:20.241 USA
6 Kyle McBride Kyosho O.S. 13/10:20.518 Australia
7 Atsushi Hara Hot Bodies O.S. 13/10:23.382 Japan
8 Simon Willets Mugen Novarossi 13/10:23.486 Great Britain
9 Yannick Aigoin Associated nVision 13/10:23.677 France
10 JR Mitch TLR Orion 13/10:26.492 USA
11 Taylor Petersen Mugen Alpha 13/10:27.219 USA
12 Martin Bayer XRAY LRP 13/10:27.555 Finland

FINAL QUALIFYING RESULTS – Top 16 transfer directly to the semifinals

Qualified Name Country Car Engine Tires Points
1 Elliot Boots Great Britain Kyosho Nova Rossi AKA 452
2 Robert Batlle Spain Mugen Nova Rossi Pro Circuit 451
3 Ty Tessman Canada HB/HPI O.S. Pro-Line 448
4 Jared Tebo USA Kyosho Orion AKA 446
5 Ryan Maifield USA Team Associated LRP JConcepts 445
6 Lee Martin Great Britain Mugen Nova Rossi AKA 441
7 Yannick Aigoin France Team Associated Nvision Pro Circuit 438
8 Kyle McBride Australia Kyosho O.S. Pro-Line 437
9 Davide Tortorici Italy Mugen Bliss VP-Pro 434
10 Martin Bayer Czech Republic Xray LRP AKA 434
11 Jerome Aigoin France Kyosho Nova Rossi AKA 429
12 Atsushi Hara Japan HB/HPI O.S. HB/HPI 428
13 David Ronnefalk Sweden Kyosho Orion AKA 426
14 Josh Wheeler USA Xray O.S. AKA 424
15 Taylor Petersen USA Mugen Alpha AKA 423
16 Renato Tradardi jR. Venezuela Team Associated Nova Rossi JConcepts 418

Never miss an issue of RC Car Action!

Subscribe today with a Digital Edition subscription or Print + Digital combo!

Updated: July 21, 2015 — 4:16 PM
Air Age Media ©