2013 ROAR Fuel Off-Road Nationals – Third Round Results

Jun 15, 2013 No Comments by

The third round of any nitro off-road race is the most important. Unless you locked in two solid rounds on Day One, it’s imperative to do well on Saturday morning rather than risk relying on a flyer in the final chance to improve your points. With several top drivers struggling in at least one round on Friday the overnight points were a mess!


The TLR team continued their strong presence at the top of the charts Saturday morning, with 2008 Buggy class champ Mike Truhe, a multi-race winner in the Truck division, edging teammate Dakotah Phend for the Round Three TQ in Truck. Ryan Maifield had one of his best runs of the weekend in either class with a third place finish, which is where Jared Tebo ran most of the race before two bad laps dropped him to sixth.

Truck – Round Three
TQ. Mike Truhe (TLR/TOP) – 16/7:12.319
2. Dakotah Phend (TLR/Team Orion) – 16/7:13.638
3. Ty Tessmann (Hot Bodies/O.S.) – 16/7:16.231
4. Ryan Maifield (Team Associated/Reedy) – 16/7:17.412
5. Cody King (Kyosho/REDS) – 16/7:18.165
6. Jared Tebo (Kyosho/Team Orion) – 16/7:18.399
7. Austin Blair (Kyosho/O.S.) – 16/7:18.726
8. Joshua Wheeler (XRAY/O.S.) – 16/7:18.782
9. Jeremy Kortz (Agama/Werks) – 16/7:19.027
10. Ryan Cavalieri (Team Associated/Team Orion) – 16/7:19.690
11. Ryan Lutz (Team Durango/Alpha) – 16/7:19.868
12. Mark Pavidis (TLR/O.S.) – 16/7:20.590
13. Dylan Rodriguez (Kyosho/O.S.) – 16/7:21.161
14. Barry Pettit (Mugen Seiki/Alpha) – 16/7:21.551
15. Steven Hartson (Team Associated/Reedy) – 16/7:22.765
16. Jason Branham (Agama/O.S.) – 16/7:23.095


There’s no hat on Dakotah’s head – because he did a trick with it. The “Phenom” completed a three-for-three sweep of Buggy qualifying to lock up the overall TQ and reserve the right to test tires in round four, again eclipsing the field by a considerable margin – nearly three and a half seconds ahead of his teammate Adam Drake. Check out Team Associated electric specialist Steven Hartson going fourth for the round!

Buggy – Round Three
1 Dakotah Phend (TLR/Team Orion) – 16/7:10.981
2 Adam Drake (TLR/Novarossi) – 16/7:14.361
3 Ty Tessmann (Hot Bodies/O.S.) – 16/7:16.298
4 Steven Hartson (Team Associated/Reedy) – 16/7:17.666
5 Carson Wernimont (Team Durango/O.S.) – 16/7:18.932
6 Mike Truhe (TLR/TOP) – 16/7:19.491
7 Billy Easton (Serpent/Novarossi) – 16/7:20.222
8 Cody King (Kyosho/REDS) – 16/7:20.940
9 Ryan Cavalieri (Team Associated/Team Orion) – 16/7:21.486
10 Billy Fischer (TLR/Novarossi) – 16/7:22.133
11 Drew Moller (Kyosho/Team Orion) – 16/7:22.262
12 Taylor Petersen (XRAY/Alpha) – 16/7:25.915
13 Jacob Haas (TLR/Team Orion) – 16/7:27.653
14 Barry Pettit (Mugen Seiki/Alpha) – 16/7:27.694

Photos courtesy of LiveRC.com

Durango, Event Coverage, Kyosho, Spektrum, Team Associated

About the author

Associate Editor Since receiving my first hobby-grade RC car as a holiday present from my father nearly 20 years ago, I've been fortunate enough to meet more people and experience more opportunities through the adventures I've had in the RC industry than I would've ever imagined. I've done it all - from working at a hobby shop, to being a factory sponsored racer, to working for some of the biggest brands in the industry. I've enjoyed each and every one of the dozens of kits I've built, hundreds of events I've attended, and thousands of laps that I've logged at race tracks around the world, and my passion is to share those experiences with other hobbyists so that they may find fulfillment in their own RC careers.
No Responses to “2013 ROAR Fuel Off-Road Nationals – Third Round Results”
Copyright © Air Age Media. All rights reserved.
click me