2013 Silver State: Second Round Results

Apr 20, 2013 No Comments by

It started cooling off on Friday night, and in typical Silver State fashion the track is getting rough. The racers at this year’s event are split on how to best handle the changing conditions: some are making changes to their cars in an effort to cope, while the rest are simply focusing on driving the best lines possible.

After an off run in the first round, defending Pro Truck champion Jared Tebo returned to form with a stellar race in the second qualifier that was nearly three and a half seconds faster than anyone else, including the fastest lap of the round. Having made changes to all of his cars throughout today’s races he was more than happy with the performance of his Kyosho ST-RR EVO in this evening’s round and looks to challenge Ryan Lutz for the overall TQ.

Silver State 2013 Friday Rnd 20337

Tebo will have his work cut out for him tomorrow, however, because he’s seriously down on points. Ryan Lutz backed up his round win in the opening qualifier with a second place finish that could’ve been a second TQ – he held the lead on the clock with just two laps to go, despite having a fast lap that was a half-second slower than Tebo, before a crash set him behind.

Young Kyosho driver Drew Moller improved significantly over what was already a great showing in the first round, finishing third overall and locking himself into Sunday’s Pro Truck final for his first A-Main appearance at Silver State. With his father Mike watching intently from pit lane, Drew has relied on being composed and mistake-free every time he hits the track.

Pro Truck – Round Two
1. Jared Tebo – 13/7:10.291
2. Ryan Lutz – 13/7:13.689
3. Drew Moller – 13/7:14.737
4. Mike Truhe – 13/7:14.760
5. Adam Drake – 13/7:16.501
6. Cody King – 13/7:18.728
7. Ryan Cavalieri – 13/7:20.945
8. Jeremy Kortz – 13/7:21.914
9. Josh Wheeler – 13/7:23.582
10. Billy Fischer – 13/7:26.105

Former event winner Mike Truhe topped the field in Pro Buggy on Friday evening with his TLR 8IGHT 3.0, coming closest to a 13-lap run as the bumpy track conditions slowed the pace considerably; Truhe’s run was about fifteen seconds slower than Tebo’s TQ time from the first round.

Former IFMAR World Champion-turned-part timer Mark Pavidis, another former winner of the Silver State Nitro Challenge, logged his best run of the weekend with a top-five finish. With perhaps more experience racing here in Vegas than anyone else in the field, Pavidis was one of three TLR buggies in the fop five spots despite being the slowest of those turning a 12/7:03 run – he was just a half second out of third!

Pro Buggy – Round Two
1. Mike Truhe – 12/7:01.961
2. Ryan Lutz – 12/7:02.575
3. Adam Drake – 12/7:03.222
4. Drew Moller – 12/7:03.360
5. Mark Pavidis – 12/7:03.753
6. Jared Tebo – 12/7:06.340
7. Cody King – 12/7:07.403
8. Josh Wheeler – 12/7:08.709
9. Ryan Cavalieri – 12/7:09.113
10. Jeremy Kortz – 12/7:10.114

2013 Silver State Nitro Challenge, Event Coverage, Events, Featured News, Kyosho, Nitro, Off-road

About the author

Associate Editor Since receiving my first hobby-grade RC car as a holiday present from my father nearly 20 years ago, I've been fortunate enough to meet more people and experience more opportunities through the adventures I've had in the RC industry than I would've ever imagined. I've done it all - from working at a hobby shop, to being a factory sponsored racer, to working for some of the biggest brands in the industry. I've enjoyed each and every one of the dozens of kits I've built, hundreds of events I've attended, and thousands of laps that I've logged at race tracks around the world, and my passion is to share those experiences with other hobbyists so that they may find fulfillment in their own RC careers.
No Responses to “2013 Silver State: Second Round Results”
Copyright © Air Age Media. All rights reserved.
click me