2013 Nitro Challenge – Final Qualifying Results

Feb 23, 2013 No Comments by

It was another late night, but qualifying for the 2013 The Dirt Nitro Challenge is officially over. It’s nothing but heads-up racing from here on out for the nitro classes, which includes 40+, Open, and Pro Truck on Saturday and the same divisions for Buggy on Sunday. We’ll also have 1/10-scale short course racing on the small track on Saturday (along with a 1/10-scale 2WD Gas Truck nostalgic exhibition class) and 1/5-scale competition for just the second year ever, running on the third Fear Farm track on Sunday. With today’s qualifying rounds running past midnight once again, the pit area cleared out faster than a school when someone pulls the fire alarm.

The winner of last year’s 1/5-scale race won’t be there to defend his title this weekend because he has bigger fish to fry. Team Losi Racing’s Adam Drake captured his third round TQ in six tries with a phenomenal run in tonight’s frigid final round, mounting a late charge in the final minutes of the race to prevent Jared Tebo from sweeping all three rounds of qualifying. Though Tebo matched Drake’s Thursday performance by TQing the first two rounds to lock up the front spot on the starting grid, it’s clear that Adam has done his homework over the winter and is confident that he is as prepared as ever.

The biggest story of the night, and perhaps the weekend until this point, was Team Kyosho teenager Drew Moller driving his way into the biggest main event of his young career. Having switched from TLR last year, it’s Moller’s first big nitro race since leaving for the MP9; indeed, his first round was a six!

Round three results1. Adam Drake
2. Jared Tebo
3. Ryan Maifield
4. Cody King
5. Elliot Boots
6. Ryan Cavalieri
7. Renaud Savoya
8. Ty Tessman
9. Dylan Rodriguez
10. Carson Wernimont
11. Mark Pavidis
12. Josh Wheeler

Overall qualifying order
1. Jared Tebo
2. Ryan Maifield
3. Adam Drake
4. Elliott Boots
5. Renaud Savoya
6. Dylan Rodriguez
7. Ryan Cavalieri
8. Cody King
9. Billy Fischer
10. Drew Moller
11. Josh Wheeler
12. Ty Tessman

2013 Dirt Nitro Challenge, Event Coverage, Events, Kyosho, Losi, Nitro, Off-road

About the author

Associate Editor Since receiving my first hobby-grade RC car as a holiday present from my father nearly 20 years ago, I've been fortunate enough to meet more people and experience more opportunities through the adventures I've had in the RC industry than I would've ever imagined. I've done it all - from working at a hobby shop, to being a factory sponsored racer, to working for some of the biggest brands in the industry. I've enjoyed each and every one of the dozens of kits I've built, hundreds of events I've attended, and thousands of laps that I've logged at race tracks around the world, and my passion is to share those experiences with other hobbyists so that they may find fulfillment in their own RC careers.
No Responses to “2013 Nitro Challenge – Final Qualifying Results”
Copyright © Air Age Media. All rights reserved.
click me