Tanner Denney Victorious At Reedy International Off Road Race Of Champions

Feb 14, 2011 No Comments by

In August, 2010 the return of the Reedy International Off Road Race of Champions was announced to the cheers of many “old school” racers. However, many racers of this generation had never experienced the excitement or prestige associated with the Reedy Race and the event didn’t disappoint.

February 11, 2011
Event Name: 17th Reedy International Off Road Race of Champions
Event Location: West Coast R/C Raceway, La Mirada, CA
Event Date(s): January 27, 2011 to January 30, 2011

With racers from around the world competing in the both the Invitational and Open classes, Team Associated was well represented in both categories. Team Associated/Reedy/LRP driver Josh Numan took his Factory Team B44.1 to the #1 grid position after qualifying, just ahead of teammate Tanner Denney. In keeping with the Reedy Race tradition of cutting edge-rules and technology, the Open class featured a two A-main format with both races counting towards the overall result. In the first leg of the A main, Numan came out just ahead of the charging Denney, setting the stage for an epic battle in A2.

As the nerves built and the tone sounded, the Reedy Race veteran (Numan) and the rookie (Denney) jumped out to a quick lead, gapping the field. It was clear that the overall championship would be decided between these two drivers. Just two laps in to the final, Denney took the lead from Numan and never looked back. The young Associated driver held off the nerves and charge from Numan to enter the record books as the Open 4WD Champion. As an added bonus, since he won the Open class, Denney is now invited to compete in the prestigious Invitational class at the next Reedy Off Road Race of Champions where he will do battle with the top drivers in the industry.

Congratulations also goes out to other Team Associated drivers making the Open class main events including Rob Gillespie, Michael Schoettler, Jimmy Barnett, Chris Jarosz, and Kurt Wenger. Additionally, in the Invitational class Team Associated was well represented by Ryan Cavalieri (3rd), Ryan Maifield (4th), Ty Tessmann (5th), Kody Numendahl (8th), Steven Hartson (11th), Neil Cragg (14th), Brent Thielke (15th), Rick Hohwart (16th), Scott Brown (18th), Paul Bradby (19th), and Peter Pinisch (25th).

Thanks to the West Coast R/C Raceway crew, Scotty Ernst, and all the racers who made the return of the Reedy Race a great success.

Photos courtesy of LiveRC.comTanner Denney, Reedy International Off Road Race Of Champions, rcca, radio control, rc car action, photo 2, winners, team associated

Team Associated, Uncategorized

About the author

Bringing you RC product news you can use on a daily basis as Car Action's Online News Editor. I have been heavily involved in RC since the late 90's, plus a diverse background that includes print and broadcast journalism, engineering, information technology, direct marketing, and even banking. Currently I enjoy racing 1/10 electric off-road, covering large race events, and spending time with my family when away from the track.
No Responses to “Tanner Denney Victorious At Reedy International Off Road Race Of Champions”
Copyright © Air Age Media. All rights reserved.
click me